Revision and Quality Assurance in Translation

Introduction

Workshop Leader: Dr Ahmed Alaoui
Workshop Schedule Date: 22 April 18 - 25 April 18
Workshop Schedule Time: 4:00 - 7:00 pm
Duration: 3 hours
Venue: LAS Building - Classroom A015

About the Workshop

Overview

Quality Assurance is a systematic process of checking to see whether the translation product meets specified requirements. A quality assurance system aims at increasing customer confidence and service provider’s credibility, to improve work processes and efficiency, and to enable the provider to better compete on the translation market.
Revision is an essential part of the Quality Assurance performed as part of the translation production process. This has been recognized by the European Quality Assurance Standard EN 15038 and International Quality Assurance Standard ASTM/F 2575, which require that Translation Service Providers should ensure that translations be revised. Often revisers and translators receive little or no training in revision techniques. Specialized training in quality assurance would improve the quality of the revision process and increase the quality of the final translation product.
The above-mentioned international standards have foregrounded revision as a key step in ensuring translation quality and defines it as the process of examining a translation for its “suitability for purpose and respect for the domain to which it belongs” and “recommending corrective action as necessary”.

Structure

The workshop includes a combination of:

  • Presentations,
  • Breakout groups
  • Scenario-based problem solving with regard to (a) the principles of revision, (b) revision process (c) application of revision parameters, and (d) revision ethics.

Methodology

The European Quality Assurance Standard EN 15038 and International Quality Assurance Standard ASTM/F 2575 will be exposed and applied in (1) self-revision, (2) comparative (bilingual) revision, and (3) unilingual (monolingual) revision exercises through group-work sessions.

Learning Objectives

  1. Raise awareness to the importance of revision/quality assurance in translation;
  2. Conduct practical monolingual and bilingual revision exercises to develop the skills required for participants to deal with  various issues while revising their own work and the translation of their colleagues;
  3. Exchange experiences and discuss concerns with a view to improving revision in both theory and practice.

Learning Outcomes

  1. Learn what to look for in a translation and how to do so in a systematic way;
  2. Acquire a vocabulary (metalanguage) for discussing revision issues;
  3. Learn how to give structured feedback to translators;
  4. Distinguish between a translation that meets the required standard of quality and one that requires revision;
  5. Identify in a translation, whether produced  by machine or by a translator, the nature of the elements to edit in line with the criteria of international standards; 
  6. Understand the dilemmas faced by the reviser and develop the confidence to resolve them;
  7. Increase awareness and exposure to the social responsibility of revisers in addressing ethical revision problems;
  8. Expose and analyze the revision challenges participants have encountered in their careers, for them to upgrade their skills to address them.

Target Participants

This Workshop is recommended for translation students, new entrants to the profession and established practitioners. The maximum capacity is 20 participants.

Register for this workshop

About the Leader/Instructor
Dr Ahmed Alaoui

Dr. Ahmed Alaoui has been working for the Translation and Training Center at the Translation and Interpreting Institute (TII) as the Head of Translation Services since December 2013. Before joining TII, he was a Professor of Translation (Head of the Professional BA Translation Program) at Ibn Tufayl University, Morocco. He is a holder of a Ph.D in Translation and Master’s Degree in Linguistics. He is a graduate of the University of Wales, and University of Essex, England. His research work focuses on translation pedagogy (translator-training). His latest book, Translation: a Practical Guide for English-Arabic Translators, is the fruit of more than 20 years of teaching translation at the graduate and postgraduate levels. He has written many articles on translation pedagogy. He was also a Visiting Scholar at the University of Massachusetts, Amherst, USA, and University of Nantes, France.

Dr. Alaoui is also a confirmed professional translator, certified by the United Nations (Roster) and the Ministry of Justice of the Kingdom of Morocco. Before joining TII, he served as a Translation Project Manager at Interlangues Ltd, providing translation and revision services to national and international organizations. He has been leading Legal Translation workshops for more than 20 years

Top

Revision and Quality Assurance in Translation

مراجعة الترجمة وضبط جودتها

مقدمة

قائد ورشة العمل: الدكتور أحمد العلوي
تاريخ ورشة العمل: ۲۲ ابريل ۱۸ - ۲٥ ابريل ۱۸
توقيت ورشة العمل: 4:00 ً- 7:00 مساء
مدة: 3 ساعات
المكان: مبنى الآداب والعلوم LAS - قاعة المحاضرات A015

حول ورشة العمل

لمحة عامة

يُعرّف ضبط جودة الترجمة بأنه عمليةٌ منهجية تقوم على التحقق من مدى ملاءمة النص المترجم لمتطلبات محددة. وهو يهدف أساسًا إلى زيادة ثقة العملاء، وتعزيز مصداقية مقدّم خدمة الترجمة وتحسين سير وكفاءة العمليات التي يعتمدها وتمكينه من تعزيز تنافسيته في السوق.
تشكل المراجعة جزءًا من عملية ضبط الجودة التي تنفذ في إطار عملية إنتاج الترجمة. وقد تم الإقرار بأهميتها في المعيار الأوروبي لضبط الجودة EN 15038  والمعيار الدولي لضبط الجودة ASTM/F 2575، اللذين يستلزمان قيام شركات ومكاتب الترجمة بضمان مراجعة كافة الترجمات التي تنجزها. ومع ذلك، قلّما يحظى المراجعون والمترجمون بفرص التدرب على تقنيات مراجعة النصوص المترجمة. ومن شأن هذا التدريب أن يحسّن جودة عملية المراجعة ويعزز جودة النص المترجم.
وقد أسهم المعياران المذكوران في ترسيخ دور المراجعة بوصفه خطوة هامة لضمان جودة الترجمة، وتعريفه بأنه عملية هدفها التحقق من "مدى ملاءمة الترجمة من حيثُ هدفها وامتثالها لأسس المجال المعرفي الذي تنتمي إليه" و"إدخال ما يلزم من تعديلات لتحقيق تلك الغاية".  

بنية الورشة

تتضمن الورشة مزيجًا من:

  • العروض التقديمية،
  • أنشطة العمل الجماعية،
  • تمارين حل المشكلات القائمة على سيناريوهات معدّة سلفًا وخاصة فيما يتعلق بـ (أ) مبادئ عملية مراجعة النصوص المترجمة، و(ب) عملية المراجعة، و(ج) تطبيق معايير المراجعة، و(د) أخلاقيات المراجعة.

المنهجية

سيتم استعراض المعيار الأوروبي لضبط الجودة EN 15038  والمعيار الدولي لضبط الجودة ASTM/F 2575 وتطبيقهما من خلال تمارين جماعية في (1) مراجعة النصوص التي قام المشاركون بترجمتها، و(2) مراجعة النصوص ثنائية اللغة/المترجمة بين لغتين اثنتين، و(3) مراجعة النصوص أحادية اللغة.

أهداف التعلم

  1. زيادة الوعي بأهمية مراجعة الترجمة وضبط جودتها
  2. تنفيذ تمارين مراجعة لنصوص أحادية اللغة وثنائية اللغة بغية تطوير مهارات المشاركين في معالجة قضايا متعددة أثناء مراجعة النصوص التي ترجموها بأنفسهم وتلك التي قام زملاؤهم بترجمتها 
  3. تبادل الخبرات ومناقشة القضايا ذات الصلة بعملية المراجعة بهدف تحسين مهارات المراجعة على الصعيدين النظري والتطبيقي

مخرجات التعلم

  1. تعلم كيفية مراجعة النصوص المترجمة بطريقة منهجية
  2. تطوير اللغة الاصطلاحية لمناقشة جوانب مراجعة النصوص
  3. تعلم كيفية تقديم تقرير/ملاحظات منهجية منظمة للمترجمين
  4. التمييز بين الترجمة التي تحقق معيار الجودة وتلك التي تحتاج إلى مراجعة
  5. تحديد طبيعة الجوانب التي تحتاج إلى تعديل في الوثائق المترجمة على أيدي بشر أو آلة، وذلك وفق المعايير الدولية المعتمدة
  6. استيعاب المشاكل التي تواجه المراجع، وتعزيز ثقته بقدرته على حلّها
  7. زيادة وعي المشاركين ومعرفتهم بالمسؤولية الاجتماعية التي تقع على عاتق المراجعين في التصدي للمشكلات الأخلاقية أثناء عملية المراجعة
  8. استعراض وتحليل التحديات التي واجهت المشاركين في مسيرتهم المهنية بهدف الارتقاء بالمهارات اللازمة للتصدي لها

المشاركون المستهدفون

تناسب ورشة العمل هذه طلاب الترجمة، والممارسين الجدد لمهنة الترجمة، والمترجمين المحترفين. الحد الأقصى لعدد المشاركين 20 مشاركًا.

قم بالتسجيل الآن

قائد ورشة العمل
الدكتور أحمد العلوي

يعمل الدكتور أحمد العلوي بمركز الترجمة والتدريب بمعهد دراسات التّرجمة التابع لجامعة حمد بن خليفة في قطر بوصفه رئيسًا لقسم خدمات الترجمة سنة 2013. وقبل التحاقه بالمعهد، كان أستاذًا يدرّس الترجمة ويشرف على برنامج الإجازة المهنيّة في الترجمة، بجامعة ابن طفيل في المغرب. الدكتور العلوي خرّيج جامعة ويلز في بريطانيا وجامعة إيسيكس في إنجلترا، وهو حاصل على شهادة الماجستير وشهادة الدكتوراه. وتتمحور أبحاثه الأكاديميّة حول مناهج تدريس الترجمة  (تدريب المترجمين). ويُعتبر آخر كتاب صدر له تحت عنوان Translation: a Practical Guide for English-Arabic Translators ، ثمرة ما يزيد عن  25 سنة من تدريس التّرجمة في السلك العادي والعالي والمختص. وإلى جانب العديد من المقالات التي ألّفها في مجال مناهج تدريس الترجمة، يتولى اليوم الإشراف على برامج التطوير المهني وتنظيم وُرش التدريب لفائدة المترجمين فضلاً عن طلاب الماجستير بالمعهد. وقد سبق وكان أستاذًا زائرًا بجامعة ماساشوستس في أمهورست بالولايات المتحدة الأمريكية وجامعة نانت بفرنسا.

الدكتور العلوي مترجمٌ محترف معتمد من لدن منظمة الأمم المتحدة (لائحة الخبراء المعتمدين) ووزارة العدل بالمملكة المغربيّة. وقبل التحاقه بالمعهد، اشتغل في شركة أنتيرلانك المحدودة، بوصفه مديرًا لمشاريع التّرجمة، حيث كان يشرف على تقديم خدمات التّرجمة والمراجعة للمؤسّسات الوطنيّة والدوليّة. وقد أشرف على عدد كبير من ورش العمل المهنية في الترجمة القانونية في خلال العشرين سنة الماضية.

Top