SDL Trados and Project Management

Introduction

Workshop Leader: Wahba Youssef
Workshop Schedule Date: 06 May 18 - 09 May 18
Workshop Schedule Time: 4:00 - 7:00 pm
Duration: 3 hours
Venue: LAS Building - Classroom A019B

About the Workshop

Overview

Translation technologies are tools to aid in translating texts; they are not replacements for human translators. They are helpful devices that can change the way we work, taking over tasks that are tedious and repetitive, and leaving to us what we do best, namely using our mental process to make wise decisions.
The workshop explains how SDL Trados Studio proves to be very valuable, especially as far as the language elements in the project are concerned. Such a value can be optimized depending on the expertise of translators and project managers in dealing with the advanced features of the application. Knowing how to efficiently handle these features turns them into an asset for professional translators, project managers and language service providers.
This workshop is designed for professional translators and translation studies students who already have basic knowledge of translation technologies like SDL Trados Studio and wish to develop advanced understanding of SDL Trados and Project Management with emphasis on advanced features of the application, so that they can enhance their productivity and quality.

Structure

The scope of this workshop is to familiarize participants with the advanced features of SDL Trados Studio and project management. It contains practical, real-life examples of how to leverage SDL Trados Studio to streamline translation processes. The workshop provides the following:

  • General information on translation projects management;
  • Overview of SDL Trados Studio project management cycle;
  • Examples of how to manage projects using the most commonly exploited features in SDL Trados Studio;
  • Review and sign off project in SDL Trados Studio.

Methodology

The main focus of this training workshop is on real-life examples, for which training sample files will be used. Some presentations will be used to explain the theoretical ideas behind the practical examples used during the training.

Learning Objectives

  1. Set up users and customers in the system;
  2. Introduce participants to the process of translating and editing in SDL Trados Studio;
  3. Use the project wizard to create new projects;
  4. Read reports generated by the system, e.g. File Analyze Report;
  5. Package files and assign tasks to translators and revisers;
  6. Import return packages with translated files into your project;
  7. Change project settings;
  8. Work with revisers who are not equipped with SDL Trados Studio;
  9. Run automated quality assurance on project files.

Learning Outcomes

  1. Deal with project templates;
  2. Process multiple files by creating projects;
  3. Run tasks such as file analysis and pre-translation;
  4. Read project reports and statistics;
  5. Display only particular segments in a document, e.g. all unconfirmed segments, all segments that contain a particular term, etc.;
  6. Merge multiple files into one master file;
  7. Use automated quality assurance features for checking translations, e.g. for extra blank spaces, terminology errors, etc.;
  8. Fine-tune auto-propagation settings;
  9. Revise files with track changes inside and outside Trados environment;
  10. Finalize projects and update main translation memories.

Target Participants

This Workshop is recommended for translation students, new entrants to the profession and established practitioners. The maximum capacity is 10 participants.

Register for this workshop

About the Leader/Instructor
Wahba Youssef

Wahba Youssef has been working for the Professional Services Center as a Senior Translation Specialist since October 2015. He is leading the CAT Tools practice at TII and working towards training Translation Studies MA students on using such tools and project management techniques.

Academically, Wahba is a graduate of Ain Shams University, Faculty of Alsun, Egypt, 2001. His major study was English, Arabic and German.  He has supported his linguistic study with a diploma in Information Systems Analysis and Design regulated by NCC with cooperation with the Egyptian Ministry of Communications in 2003. Moving to work in the Capital of England, London, he pursued his academic studies by having a BA degree in International Business and Management from Bournemouth University. Additionally he gained a level 2 diploma in Financial Accounting under the regulation of the Association of Accounting Technicians in London and was awarded the membership of the association.

Professionally, between 2001 and 2004, Wahba worked in Egypt for Dar El Farouk Publishing House as an English-Arabic Translator where he translated so many books in the two disciplines of Information Technology and Finance and Investment. Then he moved to Future Group to work as a Senior Translator for 3 years. Since then, he focused on using CAT Tools in translation such as SDL Trados, Wordfast Pro and MemoQ. In 2007, he was offered a position by Ernst & Young to work as a Financial Translator and Reviewer for 3 years in Kuwait. After that he settled in London and started a new phase of his professional career; he spent six years contracting with local and international clients in the UK to provide them with translation services using cutting edge technologies of translation.

Top

SDL Trados and Project Management

برنامج SDL Trados وإدارة مشاريع الترجمة

مقدمة

قائد ورشة العمل: وهبة يوسف
تاريخ ورشة العمل: ۰٦ مايو ۱۸ - ۰۹ مايو ۱۸
توقيت ورشة العمل: 4:00 ً- 7:00 مساء
مدة: 3 ساعات
المكان: مبنى الآداب والعلوم LAS - قاعة المحاضرات A015

حول ورشة العمل

لمحة عامة

تكنولوجيات الترجمة عبارة عن أدوات غايتها مساعدة المترجمين ومديري مشاريع الترجمة، ودورها ليس بديلاً لدور البشر؛ فهي أدوات مفيدة بمقدورها تغيير أسلوب عملنا وتولي الأعمال المضجرة والمتكررة، ما يفسح المجال أمامنا للقيام بأفضل ما لدينا، أي توظيف عملياتنا العقلية لاتخاذ قرارات حكيمةٍ مستنيرة.
تشرح الورشة طريقة عمل برنامج SDL Trados وأهميته الكبرى فيما يتصل بالعناصر اللغوية في مشروع الترجمة؛ إذ يمكن للمترجمين ومديري المشاريع توظيف هذه الأهمية من خلال المزايا المتقدمة التي يحملها البرنامج. فمعرفة كيفية توظيفها بفاعلية يحوّلها إلى أداة مفيدة للغاية في هذا الإطار.
تناسب ورشة العمل هذه المترجمين المحترفين وطلاب دراسات الترجمة، ممن يمتلكون معرفة أساسية بتكنولوجيات الترجمة ويرغبون في تطوير هذه المعرفة حول دور برنامج SDL Trados والإحاطة بمزاياه المتقدمة في إدارة المشاريع، وذلك بهدف زيادة الإنتاجية وتعزيز جودة الترجمة.  

بنية الورشة

تتضمن الورشة مزيجًا من الأنشطة العملية على طريقة عمل SDL Trados في ضبط مراحل الترجمة وانسياب عملياتها. كما تتضمن ما يلي:

  • معلومات عامة عن إدارة مشاريع الترجمة
  • استعراض دورة إدارة المشاريع في برنامج SDL Trados
  • أمثلة عن كيفية إدارة المشاريع باستخدام المزايا الأساسية للبرنامج
  • مراجعة المشاريع وإتمامها داخل البرنامج 

المنهجية

تركز الورشة في المقام الأول على أمثلة عملية من دورة حياة المشروع في برنامج SDL Tados، من خلال تدريب المشاركين على تنفيذ مشاريع قصيرة. كما تتضمن عدة عروض تقديمية لشرح الإطار النظري للنماذج التدريبية المستخدمة.

أهداف التعلم

  1. تحضير العمل بالنسبة للمستخدمين والعملاء
  2. التعريف بالترجمة والمراجعة باستخدام برنامج SLD Trados
  3. استخدام معالج المشاريع لإنشاء مشاريع جديدة
  4. قراءة التقارير التي يعدّها النظام، ومنها تقرير تحليل الملفات
  5. وضع ملفات الترجمة في حزمة وإسنادها إلى المترجمين والمدققين المكلفين بها
  6. استقبال حزم الترجمة التي تحتوي على ملفات مشروع الترجمة
  7. تغيير إعدادات المشروع
  8. العمل مع المدققين الذين لا يمتلكون برنامج SDL Trados
  9. تنفيذ آلية ضبط الجودة على ملفات مشروع الترجمة  

مخرجات التعلم

  1. التدرب على نماذج المشاريع
  2. معالجة ملفات متعددة من خلال إنشاء حزم المشاريع
  3. تنفيذ مهام تحليل الملفات والترجمة المسبقة
  4. قراءة التقارير والإحصائيات الخاصة بالمشروع
  5. عرض مقاطع ضمن الوثيقة المترجمة، مثل المقاطع غير المؤكدة أو كافة المقاطع التي تتضمن مصطلحًا محددًا... إلخ
  6. دمج عدة ملفات ضمن ملف واحد رئيسي
  7. استخدام مزايا آلية ضبط الجودة لمراجعة الترجمة، مثل الفراغات الزائدة بين الكلمات والأخطاء في المصطلحات... إلخ
  8. ضبط إعدادات التعبئة الآلية
  9. مراجعة الملفات وإدخال التعديلات اللازمة، داخل البرامج وخارجه
  10. إتمام المشاريع وتحديث ذاكرة الترجمة الرئيسية

المشاركون المستهدفون

تناسب ورشة العمل هذه طلاب الترجمة، والممارسين الجدد لمهنة الترجمة، والمترجمين المحترفين. الحد الأقصى لعدد المشاركين 10 مشاركين.

قم بالتسجيل الآن

قائد ورشة العمل
وهبة يوسف

يشغل وهبة يوسف منصب أخصائي أول في الترجمة التحريرية بمركز الخدمات الاحترافية في معهد دراسات الترجمة منذ شهر أكتوبر من عام 2015. وهو يقود استخدام تقنيات الترجمة بمساعدة الحاسوب في المركز، ويعمل على تدريب طلاب ماجستير دراسات الترجمة على استخدام هذه التقنيات وأساليب إدارة المشروعات.

تخرّج وهبة في كليّة الألسن بجامعة عين شمس (مصر) في عام 2001 مختصًا في اللغات الإنجليزية والعربية والألمانية. وقد عزز دراسته اللغوية بدارسة تحليل وتصميم نظم المعلومات من خلال حصوله على دبلومة تصميم وتحليل نظم المعلومات تحت إشراف مؤسسة إن سي سي العالمية وبدعم من وزارة الاتصالات المصرية في عام 2003. وبعد انتقاله إلى العمل في العاصمة الإنجليزية لندن، تابع وهبة مسيرته الأكاديمية بالحصول على درجة البكالوريوس في الأعمال الدولية والإدارة من جامعة بورنموث، بالإضافة إلى دبلومة في المحاسبة المالية تحت إشراف جمعية فنيي المحاسبة الإنجليزية ونال عضويتها بعد استكمال المستوى الثاني.

على الصعيد المهني، عمل وهبة بين عامي 2001 و2004 مترجمًا في دار الفاروق للطباعة والنشر، حيث ترجم العديد من الكتب المتخصصة في مجال تكنولوجيا المعلومات وقطاع المال والاستثمار. ثم انتقل للعمل في مجموعة المستقبل كمترجم أول لمدة ثلاث سنوات، وانصبّ تركيزه من ذلك الحين على تقنيات الترجمة بمساعدة الحاسوب مثل SDL TRADOS، و Wordfast Pro، و MemoQ. وفي عام 2007، استعانت مؤسسة إرنست ويونغ للتدقيق المحاسبي العالمية بخدماته لشغل وظيفة مترجم ومدقق للنصوص المالية في فرع الشركة بالكويت لمدة ثلاث سنوات، ما لبث بعدها أن انتقل إلى لندن ليبدأ مرحلة جديدة في مسيرته المهنية، فعمل مترجمًا متعاقدًا مع العديد من المؤسسات المحلية والدولية العاملة في المملكة المتحدة لمدة ست سنوات لتقديم خدمات الترجمة باستخدام أحدث التقنيات.

Top