Portuguese Course Descriptions

Portuguese Course Descriptions

Learning Portuguese opens the door to a new world of possibilities. With around 250 million speakers, Portuguese is one of the most spoken languages in the world and it has one of the highest growth rates in the Internet and in social networks. It is the official language of Angola, Brazil, Cape Verde, Guinea Bissau, Mozambique, Portugal and São Tomé and Príncipe, and one of the official languages in East Timor, Equatorial Guinea and Macau. Portuguese, or one of its many creoles, is also spoken in small pockets around the world: Goa, in India, and Malacca, in Malaysia, for instance. 

Therefore, by knowing Portuguese you are able to engage in many different ancient and modern cultures and to appreciate very diverse and rich traditions. Reading celebrated literary masterpieces in Portuguese and understanding world famous enchanting songs becomes a reality as well. Speaking the language also opens new possibilities in some of the most important trade blocs in the world: Portuguese is actually an official language of the European Union, Mercosul and the African Union.

Would you like to embark on learning this fascinating language? Whether you are of Portuguese descent from Goa or your parents or grandparents came back to Lebanon from Brazil, or whether you just love Brazilian or Portuguese football, the language itself or the cultures associated to it, this is the right program for you. It is designed to make you speak from day one. In 40-hour courses, you tackle a variety of topics within contextualized everyday settings. Depending on your level, you practice interacting in a restaurant, getting around town, giving advice or expressing an opinion, talking about different places and traditions, discussing environmental changes… The focus is on all four skills: listening, speaking, reading and writing.

Our Portuguese program curriculum is organized towards the Common European Framework of Reference for Languages (CEFR). Please find the correspondence between the levels below.

TII’s Portuguese Language Program

CEFR

Certificate

Beginner 1 (40 hours)

Beginner 2 (40 hours)
A1 After successfully completing these two levels, the student can request an in-house certificate towards CEFR A1.

Pre-intermediate 1 (40 hours)

Pre-intermediate 2 (40 hours)
A2 After successfully completing these two levels, the student can request an in-house certificate towards CEFR A2.

Intermediate 1 (40 hours)

Intermediate 2 (40 hours)
B1 After successfully completing these two levels, the student can request an in-house certificate towards CEFR B1.

Upper-intermediate 1 (40 hours)

Upper-intermediate 2 (40 hours)
B2
Currently not offered at TII.

Advanced 1 (40 hours)

Advanced 2 (40 hours)
C1

Currently not offered at TII.

 

Would you like to embark on learning Portuguese? This course will get you started. It is designed to provide the true beginner with basic linguistic competence to understand and use daily expressions common to any part of the Portuguese-speaking world. Within contextualized everyday settings, you practice introducing yourself and others, meeting people, interacting in a café or a restaurant and speaking about everyday activities. Through a variety of activities, including role play, you gain the confidence to start to build on your knowledge and to talk about leisure activities, hobbies, plans and even the weather.

Prerequisites: No prior knowledge of Portuguese is expected.

Textbook: Português XXI 1(Nova Edição), Lidel – Edições Técnicas, by Ana Tavares.

Beginner 2 is the right course for students who have some knowledge of Portuguese but still have some basic topics to cover or for those who have studied Portuguese in the past and wish to refresh it. At this level, you build upon what you have learned so far. You work on your pronunciation, improve your formal Portuguese and learn some idiomatic expressions. You develop greater fluency in everyday situations, such as shopping, describing people and places, giving directions, discussing instructions, describing a city and talking about traditions. Within contextualized everyday settings, you practice writing letters/emails and talking about past, present and future events and experiences. You are also ready to give information about your professional life and even express appreciation or dissatisfaction!

Prerequisites: Beginner 1 (40 hours) at this program (or equivalent).

Textbook: Português XXI 1(Nova Edição), Lidel – Edições Técnicas, by Ana Tavares.

At this level, you are ready to handle somewhat more complicated conversations and acquire more sophisticated grammatical structures. You practice asking and answering questions and develop your comprehension and expressive skills. Through a variety of activities, you acquire sufficient linguistic competence to give information about yourself, to advise someone and to understand interviews, advertisements, and instructions on a variety of topics. This course also provides you with the necessary linguistic competence to express your thoughts and opinions about eating habits, sports, health and everyday life in different countries, as well as to comprehend press articles on these topics. Building upon what you have learned in the previous levels, you practice giving advice, talking about the weather and understanding weather maps and forecasts. You work on all four skills (reading, writing, speaking and listening) and your pronunciation gets even better!  

Prerequisites: Beginner 2 (40 hours) at this program (or equivalent).

Textbook: Português XXI 2(Nova Edição), Lidel – Edições Técnicas, by Ana Tavares.

 

Building upon your knowledge, in Pre-Intermediate 2 you learn how to express yourself in somewhat more complex communicative scenarios. You practice giving basic information about health issues, scheduling an appointment, as well as discussing health support systems. You deal with daily news articles and various other spoken and written texts. You practice shopping, as well as exchanging and returning merchandise, complaining and expressing your opinion about the quality of the service. You also discuss topics such as popular festivities, traditions and stories, as well as traditional and modern professions. You become acquainted with different Portuguese language varieties and learn about very interesting cultural traditions and natural wonders of several Portuguese speaking countries. You work on all four skills (reading, writing, speaking and listening), continue to refine your pronunciation and expand your vocabulary and range of idiomatic expressions. In the meanwhile, your writing skills continue to improve!

Prerequisites: Portuguese Pre-intermediate 1 (40 hours) at this program (or equivalent)

Textbook: Português XXI 2(Nova Edição), Lidel – Edições Técnicas, by Ana Tavares.

 

 

If you wish to learn some basic Portuguese without engaging in a longer regular program, this 20-hour course is the right one for you! It is designed to provide students with basic linguistic competence to understand and use daily expressions aimed at satisfying immediate needs. Within contextualized everyday settings, you practice greeting people, introducing yourself and others, sharing personal information, interacting in a café or a restaurant, getting around town and shopping.

Prerequisites: No prior knowledge of Portuguese is expected.

Textbook: No textbook required for this course.

 

Would you like to practice the Portuguese you have learned so far? Or have you studied Portuguese in the past and wish to refresh it? Than join us: let’s talk Portuguese! This course is all about speaking the language in real-life situations. Find your way in cities like Lisbon and Rio de Janeiro, book a hotel, order food and drinks in restaurants and cafés, go shopping, introduce yourself in a job interview, make plans with your friends (and remember to consider the weather!), tell them about your travel experiences, and a lot more… Depending on the topic, you either work with all your classmates or in smaller groups organized per level.

Prerequisites: Portuguese Beginner 1 or Portuguese Beginner 2 at this program (or equivalent).

Textbook: No textbook required for this course.

If you have reached the pre-intermediate level (at least), you are ready to handle somewhat more complicated conversations. Join us and challenge yourself! Within contextualized everyday settings, you practice asking and answering questions, sharing information and giving advice.  You express your thoughts and opinions about eating habits, sports, health and everyday life in different countries.  You practice shopping, as well as exchanging and returning merchandise, complaining and expressing your opinion about the quality of the service. You also talk about popular festivities and traditions,vacation experiences and plans, and discuss current topics, such as environmental issues, social media, the challenges of aging… Depending on the theme, you either work with all your classmates or in smaller groups organized per level.​

Prerequisites: Portuguese Pre-intermediate 1 or Portuguese Pre-intermediate 2 or any of the Intermediate sublevels at this program (or equivalent).

Textbook: No textbook required for this course.

Top

Portuguese Course Descriptions

وصف دورات اللغة البرتغالية

يُمهد تعلم اللغة البرتغالية الطريق لعالم جديد من الفرص المتاحة. إذ تُعد اللغة البرتغالية واحدة من أكثر اللغات انتشارًا في العالم وتسجل أيضًا واحدًا من أعلى معدلات النمو على شبكة الإنترنت ومواقع التواصل الاجتماعي. وهي اللغة الرسمية لدول أنجولا والبرازيل والرأس الأخضر وغينيا بيساو وموزمبيق والبرتغال وساو تومي وبرينسيبي وأحد اللغات الرسمية في تيمور الشرقية وغينيا الاستوائية وماكاو. كما يشيع استخدام اللغة البرتغالية، أو إحدى لهجاتها الخاصة، في أقاليم صغيرة حول العالم: مثل ولاية غوا في الهند، وملقا في ماليزيا.

 لذلك، فإن تعلم اللغة البرتغالية يتيح لك فرصة التفاعل مع العديد من الثقافات القديمة والحديثة وكذا إدراك قيمة التقاليد المتنوعة والغنية للغاية في هذه الثقافات.كما يصبح بمقدورك قراءة الروايات الأدبية الرائعة باللغة البرتغالية وفهم معاني الكثير من الأغاني الساحرة والشهيرة عالميًا.ويعني أيضًا القدرة على تحدث هذه اللغة إتاحة فرص جديدة في بعض أهم الكتل التجارية على مستوى العالم: كما أن اللغة البرتغالية هي إحدى اللغات الرسمية للاتحاد الأوروبي والسوق المشتركة لبلدان المخروط الجنوبي والاتحاد الأفريقي.

 فلما لا تسارع وتبدأ في تعلم هذه اللغة الرائعة؟ فسواء أكانت أصولك تنحدر من ولاية غــوا البرتغالية، أم ما لبث والداك أو جدّاك أن عادوا إلى لبنان من البرازيل، أم كنت تحـبّ كرة القدم البرازيلية أو البرتغالية، أم كنت تحب اللغة نفسها أو الثقافات التي ترتبط بهذه اللغة، فهذا هو البرنامج المناسب لك. وقد جرى تصميم هذا البرنامج ليمنحك القدرة على التحدث باللغة البرتغالية منذ اليوم الأول، وذلك من خلال دورات مدتها 40 ساعة تتيح لك التفاعل مع مجموعة متنوعة من الموضوعات التي تحاكي مواقف يومية متنوعة. وبناءً على مستوى معرفتك بهذه اللغة، ستمارس مهارات التفاعل في المطاعم، والتجول في المدينة، وتقديم المشورة أو التعبير عن رأيك، والتحدث حول الأماكن والتقاليد المختلفة، ومناقشة التغيرات المناخية. وتركز الدورة على المهارات الأساسية الأربع: الاستماع والتحدث والقراءة والكتابة.

ولقد جرى تنظيم منهج برنامجنا للغة البرتغالية بما يتوافق مع الإطار الأوروبي المرجعي الموحد للغات (CEFR). ويمكنك التعرف على الشهادات المُعادلة في الإطار الأوروبي من خلال الجدول التالي.

الشهادة

الإطار الأوروبي المرجعي الموحد للغات 

برنامج معهد دراسات الترجمة للغة البرتغالية

 

يمكن للطالب بعد استكمال هذين المستويين بنجاح طلب شهادة من معهد دراسات الترجمة تؤهله لمتابعة الحصول على شهادة CEFR A1.

 

المستوى الابتدائي 1 (40 ساعة)

المستوى الابتدائي 2 (40 ساعة)

يمكن للطالب بعد استكمال هذين المستويين بنجاح طلب شهادة من معهد دراسات الترجمة تؤهله لمتابعة الحصول على شهادة CEFR A2.  

المستوى ما قبل المتوسّط 1 (40 ساعة)

المستوى ما قبل المتوسّط 2 (40 ساعة)

يمكن للطالب بعد استكمال هذين المستويين بنجاح طلب شهادة من معهد دراسات الترجمة تؤهله لمتابعة الحصول على شهادة CEFR B1.  

المستوى المتوسّط 1 (40 ساعة)

المستوى المتوسّط 2 (40 ساعة)

غير متوفر بمعهد دراسات الترجمة في الوقت الحالي.  

المستوى فوق المتوسّط 1 (40 ساعة)

المستوى فوق المتوسّط 2 (40 ساعة)

غير متوفر بمعهد دراسات الترجمة في الوقت الحالي.  

المستوى المتقدم 1 (40 ساعة)

المستوى المتقدم 2 (40 ساعة)

 

هل تود أن تبدأ في تعلم اللغة البرتغالية؟ بادر، إذن، بالتسجيل في هذه الدورة التي تساعدك في تحقيق حلمك؛ إذ تهدف إلى تزويد المبتدئين بالكفاءة اللغوية الأساسية لفهم واستعمال التعبيرات المستخدمة في كافة المناطق الناطقة باللغة البرتغالية حول العالم. وتوفر الدورة أيضًا إطارًا تعليميًا يحاكي مواقف يومية متنوعة، حيث تُتاح لك الفرصة للتعريف عن نفسك، ومقابلة الناس والتفاعل معهم كما لو كنت في مقهى أو مطعم، وكذلك التحدث عن أنشطتك اليومية. ومن خلال مجموعة متنوعة من الأنشطة، ومنها تقمص الأدوار، يمكنك اكتساب الثقة لبدء الاعتماد على معرفتك والحديث عن الأنشطة الترفيهية والهوايات والخطط وحتى الطقس.

المتطلبات الأساسية: تناسب هذه الدورة الطلاب الذين لم يدرسوا اللغة البرتغالية من قبل.

الكتاب الدراسي: PortuguêsXXI 1(Nova Edição), Lidel – Edições Técnicas, by Ana Tavares

 

المستوى الابتدائي 2 هو المسار الصحيح للطلاب الذين لديهم بعض المعرفة باللغة البرتغالية ولكن لا يزال لديهم بعض الموضوعات الأساسية التي لم يتقنوها أو لأولئك الذين درسوا اللغة البرتغالية في الماضي ويرغبون في إعادة تذكره. يمكنك في هذا المستوى أن تبني على ما تعلمته حتى الآن. سوف تعمل على تحسين نطقك، وتحسين اللغة البرتغالية الرسمية، وتعلم بعض التعبيرات الاصطلاحية. يمكنك تطوير قدر أكبر من الطلاقة في مواقف الحياة اليومية، مثل التسوق، ووصف الناس والأماكن، وإعطاء التوجيهات، ومناقشة التعليمات، ووصف المدن، والتحدث عن التقاليد. سوف تمارس كتابة الخطابات / رسائل البريد الإلكتروني والتحدث عن الأحداث والتجارب الماضية والحالية والمستقبلية ضمن الأنشطة اليومية. كما ستكون قادرًا على تقديم معلومات عن حياتك المهنية والتعبير عن التقدير أو عدم الرضا!

المتطلبات الأساسية: يمكن للذين اجتازوا المستوى الابتدائي 1 (40 ساعة) للغة البرتغالية في هذا البرنامج (أو ما يعادله) الالتحاق بهذه الدورة.

الكتاب الدراسي: Português XXI 1(Nova Edição), Lidel – Edições Técnicas, by Ana Tavares

 

 

في هذا المستوى، ستكون قادرًا على التعامل مع محادثات أكثر تعقيدًا نوعًا ما واكتساب تركيبات نحوية أكثر تعقيدًا. سوف تمارس طرح الأسئلة والإجابة عليها وتطوير مهاراتك في الفهم والتعبير. سوف تكتسب - من خلال مجموعة متنوعة من الأنشطة - كفاءات لغوية تمكنك من تقديم معلومات عن نفسك، وتقديم المشورة لشخصٍ ما، وفهم المقابلات، والإعلانات، والإرشادات حول مجموعة متنوعة من الموضوعات. كما توفر لك هذه الدورة الكفاءة اللغوية اللازمة للتعبير عن أفكارك وآرائك عن عادات الأكل، والرياضة، والصحة، والحياة اليومية في مختلف البلدان، وكذلك فهم المقالات الصحفية عن هذه المواضيع. وبناءً على ما تعلمته في المستويات السابقة، سوف تمارس تقديم المشورة، والتحدث عن الطقس، وفهم خرائط وتوقعات الطقس. سوف تعمل على تحسين جميع المهارات الأربعة (القراءة، والكتابة، والمحادثة، والاستماع) بالإضافة إلى تحسين مستوى النطق لديك!

المتطلبات الأساسية: يمكن للذين اجتازوا المستوى الابتدائي 2 (40 ساعة) في هذا البرنامج (أو ما يعادله) الالتحاق بهذه الدورة.

الكتاب الدراسي: Português XXI 1(Nova Edição), Lidel – Edições Técnicas, by Ana Tavares

 

بناءً على معرفتك السابقة، سوف تتعلم في المستوى ما قبل المتوسط 2 كيفية التعبير عن نفسك في سيناريوهات تواصل أكثر تعقيدًا نوعًا ما. سوف تمارس تقديم المعلومات الأساسية عن القضايا الصحية، وتحديد مواعيد، وكذلك مناقشة نظم الدعم الصحي. سوف تتعامل مع المقالات الإخبارية اليومية وغيرها من النصوص المنطوقة والمكتوبة. وسوف تمارس التسوق، وتبادل البضائع وإعادتها، والشكوى والتعبير عن رأيك عن جودة الخدمة. كما ستناقش موضوعات مثل الاحتفالات الشعبية، والتقاليد، والقصص، وكذلك المهن التقليدية والحديثة. سوف تتقن أنواع مختلفة من اللغة البرتغالية وتتعرف على التقاليد الثقافية المثيرة للاهتمام للغاية والعجائب الطبيعية للعديد من البلدان الناطقة باللغة البرتغالية. سوف تعمل على تحسين جميع المهارات الأربعة (القراءة، والكتابة، والمحادثة، والاستماع)، مع الاستمرار في تحسين مستوى النطق لديك وتوسيع مفرداتك ومجموعة من التعبيرات الاصطلاحية. كما ستستمر في تحسين مهاراتك في الكتابة!

المتطلبات الأساسية: يمكن للذين اجتازوا المستوى ما قبل المتوسّط 1 (40 ساعة) في هذا البرنامج (أو ما يعادله) الالتحاق بهذه الدورة.

الكتاب الدراسي: Português XXI 2(Nova Edição), Lidel – Edições Técnicas, by Ana Tavares.

 

 

إذا كنت ترغب في تعلم بعض أساسيات اللغة البرتغالية دون المشاركة في برنامج منتظم طويل؛ إذن، هذه الدورة، التي تستغرق 20 ساعة، هي الدورة المناسبة لك! صممت هذه الدورة لتزويد الطلاب بالكفاءة اللغوية الأساسية لفهم واستخدام التعبيرات اليومية التي تهدف إلى تلبية الاحتياجات الفورية. وتوفر الدورة أيضًا إطارًا تعليميًا يحاكي مواقف يومية متنوعة، حيث تُتاح لك الفرصة لتقديم التحية للأشخاص وتعريف نفسك والآخرين وتبادل المعلومات الشخصية والتفاعل مع الأشخاص في المقهى أو المطعم والتجول في أنحاء المدينة والتسوق. 

المتطلبات الأساسية: تناسب هذه الدورة الطلاب الذين لم يدرسوا اللغة البرتغالية من قبل.

الكتاب الدراسي: لا تتطلب هذه الدورة كتب دراسية. 

هل ترغب في ممارسة اللغة البرتغالية التي تعلمتها حتى الآن؟ أو هل درست اللغة البرتغالية في الماضي وترغب في إعادة تذكرها؟ بادر، إذن، بالانضمام إلينا: دعنا نتحدث اللغة البرتغالية! تتمحور هذه الدورة حول التحدث باللغة في المواقف الحياتية اليومية. حيث تستطيع من خلال هذه الدورة معرفة طريقك في المدن مثل لشبونة وريو دي جانيرو، وحجز الفنادق، وطلب الطعام والمشروبات في المطاعم والمقاهي، والتسوق، وتقديم نفسك في مقابلة، ووضع الخطط مع أصدقائك (وفهم الأحوال الجوية!)، وإخبار أصدقائك عن تجارب سفرك والكثير غير ذلك... وبناءً على الموضوع، فإنك سوف تعمل مع جميع زملائك في الفصل أو في مجموعات أصغر منظمة وفقًا للمستوى. 

المتطلبات الأساسية: إتمام المستوى الابتدائي الأول للغة البرتغالية أو المستوى الابتدائي الثاني للغة البرتغالية في هذا البرنامج (أو ما يعادله). 

الكتاب الدراسي: لا تتطلب هذه الدورة كتب دراسية. 

إذا وصلت للمستوى ما قبل المتوسط (على الأقل)، فستكون قادرًا على التعامل مع محادثات أكثر تعقيدًا نوعًا ما. بادر بالانضمام إلينا وتحدى نفسك! وفي إطار تعليمي يحاكي مواقف يومية متنوعة، سوف تمارس طرح الأسئلة والإجابة عليها وتبادل المعلومات وتقديم المشورة. كما توفر لك هذه الدورة الكفاءة اللغوية اللازمة للتعبير عن أفكارك وآرائك عن عادات الأكل، والرياضة، والصحة، والحياة اليومية في مختلف البلدان، وممارسة التسوق، بالإضافة إلى تبادل البضائع وإعادتها، وتقديم الشكاوى والتعبير عن رأيك في جودة الخدمة، والتحدث عن الاحتفالات والتقاليد الشعبية، والمقارنة بين تجارب وخطط العطلات، ومناقشة المواضيع الحالية، مثل القضايا البيئية ومواقع التواصل الاجتماعي ومشكلات التقدم في العمر. وبناءً على الموضوع، إما أن تعمل مع جميع زملائك في الفصل أو في مجموعات أصغر منظمة وفقًا للمستوى. 

المتطلبات الأساسية: إتمام المستوى ما قبل المتوسط 1 للغة البرتغالية أو المستوى ما قبل المتوسط 2 للغة البرتغالية أو أي من المستوياتالفرعيةالمتوسطة في هذا البرنامج (أو ما يعادله). 

الكتاب الدراسي: لا تتطلب هذه الدورة كتب دراسية. 

 

 

Top